My New Bed for the Next 2 Months

This pregnancy has been quite different than the last. I don’t know if it’s because I am 5 years older than last time or just out of shape. I have gained a lot more weight than I did with Cubby and there have been some complications along the way, making me less mobile. This time around I have had numerous ailments such as sciatica, SI joint pain, back pain, strained back muscles, swollen legs, dry skin and hair, heartburn, and digestive disturbances. (Pregnancy can be so glamorous!). I have been seeing numerous professionals to address my various ailments including a naturopath, osteopath, acupuncturist, chiropractor and massage therapist.

I haven’t been able to sleep at all as I cannot lie in a bed due to the pain. This is causing insomnia, and me wandering around the house trying to find things to do at 4 a.m. I have washed dishes, organized, done work on my computer and even called my sister in law in England at 4:30 a.m. Needless to say, I am exhausted during the daytime. It got to the point that I hadn’t slept in 2 months and something needed to be done. My chiropractor showed me a chair that she had called a zero gravity chair. I tried it out and I was sold!

I had my husband go to Home Depot and purchase the zero gravity chair, which is like a patio chair version of the Lazy Boy recliner. You sit on it and push back and it goes into a reclined position, which takes the weight off of your back. I have loaded it with blankets and pillows and have been sleeping for 3-4 hour periods at a time. It’s a god send for pregnant women who cannot sleep in a bed. I would highly recommend it! And afterwards, you can use it on your patio, deck or in your backyard. Even my husband, who is 6’3″ finds it extremely comfortable. zero gravity chair

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

