Cubby will be a big sister!

Well folks, life is flowing at an alarmingly fast pace. Next weekend is already March. Hopefully this freezing cold winter will be behind us soon. I have been a busy little beaver in the past few months. I had finished the first semester of my Masters program, had some time off at Christmas and now am submersed into my second semester that began in January. Weekends are filled with school work, housework, and trying to spend quality time with Cubby. Some have been calling me “Super mom” lately, but I feel like calling myself “super failure mom”. Not in the literal sense, it’s just that I have so much on the go and it is hard to be successful at all of it. I’ve always been the type of person who does better when I’m really busy.. but this is REALLY busy.

As if it wasn’t enough having a full time job, a marriage, a toddler, and working on a part-time Masters, I am now pregnant!! I know, it sounds like I’m crazy. Hmm.. let me see how much more I can put on my plate?!! Although it seems like a million things at the same time, of course we couldn’t be happier. Cubby is very excited to be a big sister. My due date is in August so she will be 3 years old (and 2 months). I am hoping that she can be my “little helper” and retrieve diapers, bottles, etc. Cubby is crossing her fingers and hoping for a little brother (named Strawberry of course). She talks to my tummy and kisses it every night. On a side note, she now also thinks that anyone with a stomach (male or female) is having a baby. She keeps asking everyone if they are having a baby. LOL!

We are going to find out the gender so we can prepare her. We also need to move her to a different room, a different bed, and hope that she will be ok sleeping farther away from our bedroom. There are lots of exciting changes and things to do this spring! Another exciting fact is that I am 10 weeks behind my sister-in-law so we will be on maternity leave together and our little ones will be 2 months apart.

As exciting as it is, it hasn’t been all roses. I was extremely tired for the first 3 months, had many food aversions, was freezing cold all of the time, and was sleeping by 7 pm every night. It was really hard to be a mommy to Cubby. Thankfully my husband stepped up and was Mr. Mom. He fed her, dropped her to school, picked her up, fed her again, bathed her and put her to sleep. All the while, I was going to work, coming home and falling asleep on the couch! I felt horrible, like a “dead beat mom”, but I couldn’t stay awake and was feeling so nauseous. At least the first trimester is over, and that dreaded feeling of fatigue has worn off. I’m looking forward to spring and summer and getting prepared for baby#2!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Life With a Toddler, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cubby will be a big sister!

  1. Love your blog kaki, congrats for round 2 x

Leave a Reply

