2013 is coming to an end…

What can I say as I sit here and blog on the final day of the year? First, the usual, where did this year go? I feel like it was just New Years Eve 2012. How did a whole year go by?? Geez, I feel old. Second, will I be able to stay awake until midnight tonight? I feel like this is getting harder to do as the years pass. Some people are calling me an old “aunty”. If I had my way, I would be in my pajamas by the fireplace watching the ball drop and sleeping by 12:01 am. I know, pretty lame! Third, what will 2014 hold? I wonder what surprises await us moving into 2014. I am going to make my list of my goals and intentions for 2014 (what I hope to accomplish in the next year). What are your goals and dreams for the new year?

2013 was not one of my better years. There were lots of ups and downs; more “downs” than I would have liked to see. At times it was really stressful, challenging, frustrating, anger provoking and downright unfair; but then there were great times of joy, family, relaxation, laughter and my favourite one: Hawaii. Hawaii has become my “happy place”, the place that I can zone out and mentally teleport myself when life gets too overwhelming. I never tire of looking at our family pictures from our trip to Hawaii last May. (Partly also due to the fact that those are the last pictures that I have where my face was actually clear and glowing before this awful rash/ skin condition started. And yes, it is still persisting 7 months later).

Cubby has grown and matured over this past year into a tall and skinny toddler with a huge vocabulary. She is very quick to learn puzzles, songs, games, books, and even to repeat 3 syllable words and complex sentences. She is doing great in her daycare and is a well adjusted friendly child. There was one incident this year of her biting another child’s cheek, but we will just pretend that was not one of her better days! We had a food intolerance test done and determined that she has numerous food intolerances, including her favourites: eggs, wheat, and almonds. We have had to shift her diet and at one point, I had to make all of her food and take it to the daycare. Thankfully, they were able to accommodate her food intolerances and she is now doing much better. Since changing her diet, she is pooping more regularly and it now takes her 15 minutes instead of 2 hours.

We decided to pay $350 and get her tested for food intolerances  (igG food reactions) as she was chronically constipated and complained daily that her stomach was hurting. It was taking her up to 2 hours to have a bowel movement and she was pushing so hard that she would vomit her meals. The top of her head was always really hot. Seeing as I have some food intolerances, I knew she likely had developed some as well. The results came back 3 weeks later and categorized all of the tested foods according to if it they were level 1 (weak intolerances) to level 6 reactions (severe intolerances). We are avoiding all of the foods that she reacted to and waiting a period of time for the inflammation in her system to decrease. Eventually, we can try introducing these foods again.

If you want more information about testing for food intolerances, go to the following website: http://rmalab.com/medical-laboratory-tests/allergy/igg-sensitivity. I had the testing done through my naturopath.

I made it through the first semester of my Masters program and the first 6 months of a new position at the hospital. I’m hoping that this new momentum carries forward into 2014 and allows me to grow both personally and professionally. Although I don’t get to blog as much as I would like to, I enjoy returning to this blog and documenting Cubby’s latest adventures.

Have a safe and joyous new year blog readers and may all of your goals and dreams come true in 2014!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Life With a Toddler, The Cubby Chronicles, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 is coming to an end…

  1. usha arora says:

    very well written Sonia, and very informative, May the New year bring you and your family the best of health, happiness and all your dreams come true, lots of love and best of the best wishes

Leave a Reply

