Back to School

It’s been a busy whirlwind of activity lately. I haven’t had the time to blog for about two months now. Despite my already busy schedule, with a full time job and a 2 year old, I have returned to school part time to do a second Masters degree. Many people were critical of my decision to return to school. They were asking how I was going to manage my stress when I already felt stressed out to begin with. I completely understood; I was thinking the same thing. However, my decision to return to school was one out of an incessant need to do something else and to grow both personally and professionally. I have been out of school for 10 years now and although I have taken courses and participated in continuing education, I was starting to feel stagnant, like it was the same thing every day (aka: Groundhog Day). I could do my job with my eyes closed. I began researching my options and through the help of a co-worker, found a program that appealed to me. I sent in my application early this year and was surprised when I found out that I had been accepted!

I spent the whole summer mentally and physically preparing for what school would be like. I set up a home office so I could have my own space to study and work. I researched and purchased a new laptop. I completed my online orientation course and felt nervous and excited to be embarking on an adult learning experience. It’s a lot different when you are older and choosing a program that you really want to do. As the summer was ending, I was getting really nervous about school starting and if I had made the right decision or not. I thought: how will I have enough time to do everything?

It has been about a month since school started and I am thoroughly enjoying myself. I feel like I am using parts of my brain that have been dormant for many years now. Although I am the busiest that I have ever been, I am feeling comfortable and able to manage it all. Unfortunately, I am missing my favourite tv shows and not getting to relax and sit on my couch at all, but it will be worth it in the end. Every minute is maximized and the time spent with Cubby is precious time.

My typical day looks like this: wake up at 5:45am, get ready for work, get to work between 7:30 and 7:45am, work until lunch time, go to the gym at lunch (at least 3 days out of the week), pick up Cubby from daycare, spend quality time with her, feed her, bathe her, put her to sleep, turn on my computer and do school work and go to sleep at about 11:30. I even managed to get in 2 hot yoga classes this week. I think that I do better when I am really busy as there is no time to sit and feel sorry for yourself or to complain about things. You just automatically push yourself and move on to the next item on your agenda. I am learning a great deal about multi-tasking and what is considered a priority.

As for Cubby, she is 28 months old now and the life of the party. She is chatty, outgoing, funny, loves to sing and dance, and definitely has a mind of her own. She has done really well in her daycare and her vocabulary and skills have expanded twofold. She is saying 5-6 word sentences, which I thought is really advanced for a child of her age. She has improved with eating and has actually gained some weight (making her possibly 22 lbs now?). She is an expert with puzzles, both 2-3 piece ones and puzzle games on the iPad. She pretends to read books (which is hilarious), and she can count to 10 and sing the ABC song. The only thing that has regressed is her sleeping. She used to sleep for 11 hours straight in her crib, and now she keeps waking up throughout the night asking to come in “mommy daddy’s bed”. She stands in her crib and cries so loud that we end up bringing her into our bed. I know, bad idea! Now she is so comfortable in our bed, she kicks me off of my pillow and calls it her bed. I have started to put her back in her crib this past week so that I can at least get some sleep.

I must say that 2 is a really fun and interactive age. I find Cubby so entertaining. You never know what she is going to say or repeat. Cubby is changing daycares as we recently secured a spot at the one 2 minutes from our house. It will be nice to be able to walk her to and from school. I am nervous as she absolutely loves her teachers at her current school, but as my husband said, “she’s 2, she will adjust”. We are taking her to the new daycare on Monday. I have already taken her twice and have constantly been speaking about going to a new school, so I think that she understands. I am hoping she will transition smoothly.

Well, that’s all that I got right now. Sleep is calling. Until next time!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Life With a Toddler and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

