A Truly Inspiring Story

I’ve had a horrible week. My daughter got sick with a cold and has been sleeping in our bed leading to us not really sleeping well. I’ve had a bunch of things on the go as I prepare to go back to school. (Yes, back to school after 10 years of being out of school!) I’ve been stressed out wondering how I will work full time, take care of my 2 year old daughter and do a part time Masters program. It seems like a full plate, but I know it can be done. I’ve been miserable and depressed as I have had a crazy rash on my whole face that started 11 weeks ago and seems to keep getting worse. It’s bumpy, raw, red, itchy and peeling. I’ve been having a pity party all week saying “why me?”, “why do these things always seem to happen to me?”. I’ve been feeling achy and sore and wondering if I am getting my daughter’s cold. My husband has been working like a mad man on a condo project so I never see him anymore. The list could go on and on.

Then, it happened. I had received a post from another mom on my blog asking me if I could read her blog and to tell her what  I thought. She asked me to repost it on my blog. I took the time today to read her blog and watch the video that was on it. Within 2 minutes, my eyes were filled with tears and I became truly touched by her amazing story. I emailed her back and told her how amazing her story was and I promised her that I would post it on my blog. Reading her story put my life and complaints back into perspective. Here I was complaining about red itchy bumps on my face and feeling stressed and rundown over decisions that I had made for myself when this mom had battled life threatening cancer and beat the odds.

Heather’s story is truly inspiring. Please watch the video and read her blog at:

http://www.mesothelioma.com/heather

I WAS GIVEN JUST 15 MONTHS TO LIVE.

This is my story. Watch now.

Heather's FamilyIn 2005, at the age of 36, and only three months after giving birth to my beautiful daughter Lily Rose, I was diagnosed with pleural mesothelioma. Upon learning of this life-altering diagnosis, my husband Cameron and I embarked upon a search to find the best mesothelioma treatment care available. Our search eventually led us to Dr. David Sugarbaker, a renowned mesothelioma surgeon at the Boston based Brigham and Women’s hospital.

Continue Reading ›

My social networking channels:

Stay up to date by joining my mailing list: 

  

MY BLOG
  • Lily’s View

    August 12, 2013

    My daughter Lily just celebrated her 8th birthday this month. Eight years old! At times I find it hard to believe she is already 8. Other times it seems like she should be older because she is so wise …

  • Heartbreak and Healing

    July 19, 2013

    The thing about cancer that no one tells you is that you are thrust into a world not only of endless doctor appointments, countless labs, CT scans, being poked literally hundreds of times until you’re …

  • Living Life with Passion and Purpose

    June 6, 2013

    When I was in the hospital in Boston recovering from my extrapleural pneumonectomy surgery, I remember looking at Cameron, my husband, and saying to him, “when we get through all of this, we are getting …

  • FACTs from a Survivor: How the FACT Act Affects Mesothelioma Victims

    April 29, 2013

    I was speaking with a friend of mine recently about writing, as she’s writing a urban fantasy short story, and the subject of blood types came up. You see, I always remember my blood type, B Positive, …

  • LEARN MORE ›
  • LOOKING FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT MESOTHELIOMA?

– See more at: http://www.mesothelioma.com/heather/#.Ug1-NRawAZ8

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

