Back from Hawaii and daycare was a success!

We had an amazingly beautiful one week in Hawaii and enjoyed our daily family time together. Cubby had the time of her life running through the manicured lawns, swimming, playing on the playground, looking at all of the animals and wild life, people watching, and eating well. I have to admit that Hawaii is the most gorgeous place that I have been to to date. It looks like a fabricated paradise, too good to be true. Stepping out of the hotel room, you are surrounded by lush green vegetation, multi coloured exotic flowers, palm trees, the turquoise waters of the pacific ocean, and tall green mountains. It is breathtaking. There are bright rainbows in all directions and colourful birds flying freely. The air felt so fresh and clean. There was no pollution, or off gassing, or chemtrails in the sky. It was just clean, pure, and untouched as nature had intended. Obviously, I fell in love with Hawaii! It was hard to believe that it is a part of the United States. I was feeling so jealous that Americans could move there so easily, just as they would move to another state.

Our hotel was wonderful. It was a time share resort, the Marriott Maui Ocean Club; well maintained and friendly staff (http://www.marriott.com/hotels/fact-sheet/travel/hnmmh-marriotts-maui-ocean-club-molokai-maui-and-lanai-towers/).

Marriott Maui

There was so much to do and it was set on a long stretch of Kaanapali Beach with restaurants, surf board rentals, jet ski rentals, shopping and other touristy type things. Our resort was very child friendly. We had a kitchenette, so we were able to buy food and make breakfast and dinner daily. We ate out for some lunches and dinners, but for the most part made delicious food using the grills at our resort. Ironically, we went to my husband’s favourite store, Costco, the second day that we were in Hawaii and did all of our food shopping there. We managed to save a lot of money as eating out in Hawaii is quite expensive!

The one week was rejuvenating and a trip of a lifetime. The journey back to Toronto was not so fun as we took the red eye flight at 10:30 pm and Cubby had been up all day with no naps. She had difficulty sleeping on the plane and we didn’t have an extra seat in between us as we had had on the way there. We got back to Toronto the following day at 3:30 pm. Cubby had caught a cold somewhere in transit and was very jet lagged so we let her sleep in our bed. She woke up the next morning and vomitted three times. She had a fever, runny nose, and was lethargic. The travelling took a toll on her. She slept in our bed for 3 nights and I was getting worried if I could get her back on her sleeping schedule: in her crib and sleeping by 8 pm. I was also nervous as she was starting daycare on the Tuesday.

The first day of daycare went surprisingly well. We had planned on sending Cubby for half days so she could have a gradual entry into daycare. She ended up crying initially when she was dropped off, but then  had a fun day and I picked her up at 4:30 pm. I was so proud of Cubby for being such a trouper.

As the week progressed, Cubby was eating well, napping, letting the staff put pigtails in her hair, learning new vocabulary and enjoying her playtime outside. She continued to cry when my husband dropped her off in the morning and when I picked her up in the late afternoon. During the day, she was busy and active (although she did bite and hit another child!). All of my nervousness and fears about daycare were put to rest.

As Cubby is now completing her second week of daycare tomorrow, I see really good changes in her. For one, she feels heavier. I have always struggled with her eating and low weight and now when I pick her up, she feels like an almost 2 year old toddler. She is napping well. She apparently goes to her cot and goes right to sleep with her “ba” (blanket)  for 2 hours with no fuss. She lets the staff do fun things with her hair (when she won’t even let me brush her hair or put clips/hairbands in it!).  She is much more verbal and saying words that she did not know 2 weeks ago. I’m impressed with her progress. The staff at the daycare said to give her about 2 weeks to stop crying when she is dropped off in the morning.

I’m happy and excited about our switch to daycare. I get to spend a lot more time with Cubby now that I only have to drive about 20 minutes to pick her up after work (as opposed to 45 minutes to 1 hour depending on traffic). We get home early and I’m able to have some playtime with her while she has her snack. Cubby is learning about structure, routine, sharing and how to interact with other children her age. I can’t help but feel like a proud mama when I sneak into her daycare early and watch her toddle around her class interacting with the staff and children.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Life With a Toddler and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back from Hawaii and daycare was a success!

  1. Amber says:

    I love sneaking in to watch them play, they are totally different children when mom and dad aren’t around!

    My husband reeeally wants to go to Hawaii. After we win Lotto Max we’re going there first!

Leave a Reply

