Full time job = Part time mom :(

I haven’t had the chance to blog a lot since I returned to work full time in September. Life has become really busy to say the least! I feel like the days, weeks, months are just passing me by now as I am full fledged back into my role as an occupational therapist. Work has been jam packed since September with little down time. Some changes have occurred since I was on maternity leave so I now cover 3 areas of the hospital; needless to say, that equals me running around like a chicken with my head cut off all day. By the time I leave work, I am really pooped and ready for a nap.

I have been feeling really rundown and tired. I thought that it was the transition back to work, however after recently getting results back from a blood test, I was surprised to learn that my iron is really low, almost non-existent. The doctor said that my level is 7. When I looked at the ranges, normal iron stores are 80 – 300 and I am at 7! It explains the dark circles under my eyes, the loss of hair and feeling really tired and dizzy. I have been trying to go to the gym at lunch at least 3-4 times a week, but the room starts spinning half way through my workout. I was ignoring all of the symptoms thinking that I must be really tired or perhaps that my thyroid was low. I never thought of low iron! Needless to say I am now taking iron supplements and trying to eat more leafy green vegetables.

On another note, my role as mommy has become progressively more difficult.  I wake up at 6 am and leave the house just after 7 am. Cubby doesn’t wake up until 7:30 am so I don’t see her at all before I go to work. My husband gets her up, changes her diaper and feeds her. He does the whole morning routine and drops her to either my mom’s house or his mom’s house. I must say that the moms are doing a great job with Cubby, but I really miss her during the day. She is at that age now where she is learning to talk, walk, copy what you do and say and she notices when you are not around. She is now saying Momma and Dada and it is the sweetest thing I’ve ever heard.

I feel horrible being the part time mom. I honestly see her on weekdays for maybe 2 hours a day if I’m lucky. I was going to pick her up after work every day; however, I just found that driving from Toronto to Brampton and then back to Mississauga every day after having worked all day was too much. I was practically falling asleep on the drive home from Brampton and I didn’t think that was too safe. My husband has been picking her up from the mom’s houses, so he sometimes doesn’t get home until 6, 6:30 or even 7 pm. Cubby goes to bed at 8 pm, which results in me spending 1 or 2 hours with her. And those are the worst hours at that as I am tired and cranky and so is she. I miss the morning routine when we were both fresh from a good night’s sleep.

The only plus right now is that I don’t have to work on the weekends. Usually I don’t make any plans so I spend as much time as I can with Cubby. Saturdays and Sundays are “our days”. I wish there was a solution. Unfortunately I have to work full time for now as we need the income. I wish there was a workplace that was: family friendly, flexible, with a day care in it. Perhaps one day. For now, I will have to be full time OT and part time mom.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Returning to Work after Mat Leave and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

