Recent changes to carseat legislation in Ontario

In response to my last post about my Britax Marathon carseat and what the current laws in Canada say, my mommy friend Amber provided the following insight:

Amber KhanOct 13, 1:32 am

Great blog Sonia! I think though that the law in Canada has changed to 22lbs and that the child has to be walking before turning the seat forward facing (I could be wrong). I know a lot of moms with babies Zain’s age that won’t be turning their seats around until the child is 2 or older (or when they max out the weight or height restriction). Rear-facing is so much safer. Also, I’ve been learning about not putting super heavy or bulky coats on babies and toddlers in the winter because it can affect the effectiveness of the straps. I guess we’re supposed to dress them in a warm fleece and cover them with the coat or a blanket. So many things to consider!!

Hope that helps!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Travelling With Baby and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

