Am I too overcautious?

Cubby has been sick all week. It started last Monday night when she was running a high fever and had a runny nose. It continued all week with a high fever, loss of appetite, increased fussiness, crying, irritability, clingy, pulling at her ear, and not sleeping. My husband and I took her to the pediatrician on Wednesday and he said that her right ear was red and filled with fluid. He told us to wait until Friday morning and if there was no change, then to give her antibiotics. We went on our way with a prescription and a plan. Cubby did not sleep on Thursday night. She was hot, fussy, and crying inconsolably. I had probably about 3 or 4 hours of sleep and headed to a full day of work on Friday. My husband took Cubby to our family doctor who checked her and said that the fever was gone, but her right ear was still red and fluid filled. He wrote a script for antibiotics and my husband called me to see if he should get it filled.

Usually I’m pretty wary of giving medications to Cubby, but judging by the fact that she had been sick all week and she wasn’t eating or sleeping, I just wanted her to feel better. I told my husband to get the antibiotics. I was at work all day yesterday so my family gave her the first dose of antibiotics. My pediatrician had prescribed Amoxicillin 250 mg, but my family doctor prescribed Cefprozil 125 mg. I wondered what the difference was? I felt a little nervous as it was her first course of antibiotics and I had heard from some other moms that their little ones had gotten diarrhea from taking it, so I also gave probiotics with it. I watched and waited. I didn’t really see a difference yesterday, although she had only had 2 doses of it.

I gave the third dose this morning and before her first nap, there was bloody mucous coming from her nose. Of course, I freaked out as it was the first time that I had seen blood coming out of her nose. It wasn’t like a nosebleed with lots of blood pouring out, it was thick yellow mucous with bright red blood. We wiped a few tissues worth and it seemed like it had stopped. I called TeleHealth just in case and they said that it was unlikely that it was a side effect of the antibiotics. They said that most likely her nasal passages were really irritated and she has an infection. They told me to continue with the antibiotics.

Of course, I couldn’t let it be so I googled the antibiotic and read all of the possible side effects. I also looked up the ingredients and was unhappy to see that it contained aspartame, some ingredients I couldn’t pronounce and a bunch of different food colourings/dyes. I have done my best to make Cubby’s food from six months old so as to avoid food colourings and additives that are not really healthy. I know that aspartame and food colourings have been linked to hyperactivity and ADHD. I was trying to weigh the pros and cons and I know that once you start an antibiotic, you have to finish the course of it. Hmm, what is a mom to do?? I was a little stressed out, but thought to myself that moms give antibiotics all of the time to their little ones and this was her first course (at almost 16 months old). I read more about food colourings and dyes on the following website: http://www.bcliving.ca/health/colour-me-shocked.

She has had 3 doses of antibiotics, and so far no change. She still has thick yellow mucous coming from her nose. The fever has subsided. I have decided to continue giving the antibiotic for a week as prescribed in fear that she will get worse if I stop it. I know that the most current research says that many doctors are using the “wait and see” approach for prescribing antibiotics for ear infections as many go away on their own. They also said that giving antibiotics for an ear infection increased the likelihood of recurrent ear infections. I read some of the following articles online:

http://www.cnn.com/2010/HEALTH/11/16/antibiotics.ear.infections/index.html

http://www.abc.net.au/health/thepulse/stories/2011/04/06/3183024.htm#.UHno97TmphM

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16140545/ns/health-childrens_health/t/doctors-skip-antibiotics-child-ear-infections/#.UHnpa7TmphM

I am torn. I started the antibiotics with her, so I am going to finish them. I will have to decide next time if antibiotics are the best course of action to take.

Am I being too cautious? What are your stories or experiences with antibiotics and your little ones?

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Health and Your Baby, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

