The Cubby Tub

Two weeks prior to heading back to work, I was busy organizing myself and figuring out what I would need to get for my mother and mother-in-law so it would be easier for them to care for Cubby. I ended up making Cubby Tubs so I thought that I would share this in case other moms are stumped about how to ease the transition back to work. Whether your child will be going to day care or to a grandparent’s home, these items may be useful.

The first thing that I did was buy 2 big Roughneck Rubbermaid tubs. These served as the tubs for “Cubby’s tub”.

I then put the following into each tub:

1. Her favourite snacks: Baby Mum Mums, Gerber Graduates, PC Organics Cereal bars, teething cookies

2. Diapers: I’m really liking Costco Kirkland diapers

3. Wipes: the Kirkland brand wipes from Costco

4. Toiletries: LiveClean Baby wash/shampoo, LiveClean Baby lotion, LiveClean vaseline

5. Hooded towel

6. Favourite blankets

7. Favourite books

8. Favourite toys: I included small toys and puzzles for fine motor development, cause and effect toys, walkers, and large toys with lights, sound and music. Also some books and balls with different textures for sensory development (can you tell that I’m an OT?! LOL!)

9. Feeding supplies: plastic BPA free plates, bowls, sippy cups and spoons, bibs

10. Washcloths

11. Extra clothes

12. If you are taking your child to daycare, you probably need to label all of their stuff such as feeding items and clothes. Mabel’s Labels are great as they are durable and don’t wash off.  www.mabelslabels.com

We also:

* dropped off the stroller so the parents can take her out for a walk.

* purchased carseats for the parents so they can take her out for a drive and in case of emergency, at least they have one.

* bought groceries such as her favourite cheeses, milk, yogurts

* I set up a room for Cubby at my in-laws’ house, so they had gotten a crib. I provided the mattress cover, crib sheets, and blanket.

* We had gotten an Eddie Bauer travel cot from a friend so we set that up at my parent’s house.

* We made a routine so that my husband gets her up in the morning, feeds her breakfast and drops her off. I pick her up in the evening and feed her dinner.

Returning to work can be a stressful time, so it’s better to be prepared and plan ahead. Most daycares ask that you drop your little one off for a few hours and work up to half a day and then a full day so that they get used to it before you go back to work. I did the same thing with Cubby. I started dropping her to my mom’s house and my in-law’s house for longer periods of time so she got used to not having me around and also got used to both homes. Returning to work can also be good as it gets you into a structured daily routine and you return to adult socialization.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products, Returning to Work after Mat Leave and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

