Hi from England!

We have been in England for a little over a week and Cubby and I are enjoying ourselves. We have been site seeing, visiting family, shopping and eating… well I am eating; can’t say much for Cubby. Cubby has become quite the Diva with all of the attention she is getting from family. She is being entertained and picked up and random people on the tube are smiling at her and making her laugh. We affectionately have given her the name Mariah as it rhymes with her name and boy has she sure become a diva! She has also been screaming a lot when she doesn’t get attention or doesn’t get her way and just like Mariah Carey, she can hit those high notes! LOL!

I have been trying to get her to eat more since we got here. The only sure thing for breakfast is an egg, a piece of toast, and some fresh fruit. She does really well if I only give her that and cut it into pieces so she can feed herself. Lunch and dinner are another story. She has been snacking a lot and continues with her “reverse Atkins” all carb diet. You think that it would make her gain weight, but no such luck. I have tried to feed her when her 22 month old cousin is eating so she can watch him and learn. (He is a really good eater). However, she continues to be fussy and picky with her food.

Cubby has been doing really well with her sleeping. I was really worried before we came that she would not be able to sleep away from home and away from her favourite crib. She has gotten used to the travel cot (Pack n’ Play) and has slept and napped in it at 2 houses so far. She is going down for naps quite easily and cries for about 20 to 30 minutes at night before falling asleep. She has been sleeping through the night, which has been a God send, although I still feel tired every morning. She currently has 3 favourite fuzzy blankets that she cannot do without. She is napping right now with 2 of them!

As for Mommy, I have been sampling all of the delicious British foods. I am enamoured with the grocery stores here and have been to 3 of them. I love going up and down the eisles and looking at the produce and packaged foods. They have a great selection of produce and healthy foods like a huge gluten free section and tons of organic baby foods. Even the meat section is humungous with some really great cuts of meat. All of them list where the meat came from and if the animal was grass fed, wild, free range, etc. I find the quality of food is much better here. Of course the chocolate is delicious. I have bought about 8 lbs of chocolate for family and friends. I have also bought some crisps for my husband (chips) with flavours that we don’t get at home such as cheese and onion and prawn cocktail. The fresh sandwiches are to die for! Let’s just say that mommy needs to do a lot of boot camp when she gets back as her jeans are already tight.

The roads here are very narrow with roundabouts everywhere. I don’t think that I could drive here as it seems so confusing. I’m still not used to them driving on the opposite side of the road. I keep looking the wrong way when crossing the street. The shopping has been great. I have been spoiling Cubby and getting her lots of clothes with the Union Jack and olympic stuff as everything says London 2012. We have been watching the Olympics on tv, but have been unable to get tickets to the events or even to walk around the Olympic park. I am obsessed with a children’s store that they have here called The Early Learning Centre (ELC). They have amazing toys for children of all ages that are good for sensory, fine motor, visual motor and gross motor development (http://www.elc.co.uk/). I would buy everything and ship it home if I could! I am going to investigate where I can find their toys in Canada.

ELC

In summary, Cubby and I are having a great time. The weather has been a good mix of sun and rain. It has been fairly mild. We still have a little over a week left and there is still so much family left to see. Hopefully the flight home will be as good as the flight here as I will be alone with Cubby.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products, The Cubby Chronicles, Travelling With Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

