First trip alone with Cubby

I’m in jolly ole England and I’m pleased to say that Cubby and I made it in one piece. I know we are only here for 2 1/2 weeks, and I booked very last minute; however, lots of consideration and time was spent packing and organizing for this trip. First off, I had major anxiety thinking of all of the things that I would need and how they would fit into my luggage allowance for both of us. I know that England would have all of the necessary things that I needed such as diapers, wipes, baby food, and rice milk, but the OCD side of me felt the need to buy and bring everything with me. I had overpacked both my bag and Cubby’s bag and knew that I could not take all of it. I didn’t know how to filter my packing. I kept thinking, what if it rains? what if it was really hot? what if Cubby soiled her clothes? what if I spilled stuff on my clothes? Again, I know that I could buy extra clothes in England; after all, it’s not like I came to a third world country, but my neurotic nature wouldn’t let me take anything out of the bags. I made a phone call and called in some help, my straight up neighbour Lori, who says it like it is.

Lori came over two nights before we left after Cubby and her little one were fast asleep. I was amazed. Within 20 minutes, she had gone through Cubby’s luggage and taken out piles of clothing and items that she thought I would not need. She gave me advice regarding the baby food for Cubby as she had recently came back from England herself. It was such a big help! The next night (the night before I left), I was riddled with anxiety and kept packing and unpacking my own bag. I was so nervous thinking of us travelling alone without my husband to manage all of our bags and our itinerary. I think I slept for 3 hours the night before I left for England. I woke up exhausted at 5:00 am and began my day. I felt sick to my stomach. How would I manage on the plane and at the airport?

Luckily for me, I had booked the same flight as my cousin who was travelling to the London 2012 Olympics. He was such a huge help! He had gotten to the airport on time, at 6 am and waited for us. I arrived at 7 am (the flight was leaving at 8:55 am), but it had taken a while to pack Cubby’s food for the flight and feed her. My husband stayed with us until we went through security and then it was my cousin and I. I had a quick moment to grab some food and a bottle of water and then I had to feed Cubby. Before I knew it we were boarding the plane.

To my amazement, Cubby was great on the plane. She took 2 naps and ate some food. I changed her diaper once, which was quite a task with a little turbulence and her moving everywhere in the tiny airplane bathroom. Cubby played peekaboo with the other passengers and I walked with her down the aisles a few times. There were 2 empty seats beside me, so she got to lay on them and stretch out and even nap once there. The flight attendants were quite helpful and attentive and warmed up our bottles. Many passengers commented on how great she did and that they did not even realize that there was a baby on the plane.

We landed and cleared customs quite quickly as it was during the opening ceremony of the Olympics and no one was around. I reached my destination quite quickly and Cubby did well adjusting to the time change.

We are now safe and sound in England visiting family and enjoying some sight seeing, shopping, eating and downtime. Despite my anxiety ridden preparation for the trip, I am really pleased and impressed with myself for travelling alone with Cubby. I know my cousin was with us on the way here, but I’m certain that I will be fine on the flight home with her.

If you are debating travelling with your little one while you are on maternity leave, and your husband cannot make it, I would completely recommend it. It may be a little stressful, but it is liberating to know that you can manage by yourself!

 

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

