Cubby at 1 year

Cubby is 1 year and 1 week old. She has blossomed into a pint sized busy body who is on the move! It’s as if she knew that her first birthday had passed for the Monday following it, she began crawling everywhere, kneeling and attempting to stand holding onto the ottoman. She is testing her limits and learning the meaning of the word “no” (right now she thinks it’s a pretty funny word and laughs whenever I say it). She is pointing at people, animals and objects and using multi-syllable baby babble. Some words even sound recognizable like “daw” (dog), “papp” (puppy), “dada” (dad), “babee” (baby), and she really knows her name now and turns whenever it is called. I have been talking about baby proofing our house forever, but now I really have to. Luckily, the gates have been installed for a while so at least the stairs are blocked. Now I need to gather up loose cords and items that are close to the floor. I also have to make an effort to keep the floors clean and free of dust as our house can get dusty really quickly.

Cubby has 4 teeth now; the top 2 middle ones and bottom 2 middle ones. She absolutely loves finger foods now and feeding herself. She also likes when I feed her using my fingers. She is starting to hate the spoon being put into her mouth. She drinks water quickly from the sippy cup and says “ahhh” really loudly when she is finished drinking (as if her thirst has been quenched; she learned this from her dad). She is very clever as I have been attempting to give her milk in her sippy cup and she won’t drink it. She will drink the water in it, but when it is white in colour, she refuses. She has done 2 sleepovers; one at my parents and one at my husband’s parents. She did well at both of them and slept through most of the night. My mother in law was able to get her drinking from a bottle after so long! I think she drank 10-12 ounces of coconut milk (I didn’t have any other milk on hand and I didn’t think she would drink any!).

I am trying to get Cubby to drink goat’s milk, but she won’t take it from my mom or myself. I don’t know if she doesn’t like the taste of it. She will eat goat cheese and goat yogurt, but not drink goat’s milk. I can give her fortified rice milk, but I wanted her to have some of the good fat that is in goat milk. I want to wait a bit to introduce dairy (cow’s milk and cheese) as I am lactose intolerant and have a big sensitivity to dairy. I also don’t agree with the amount of hormones and mutated feeds that they give to cows nowadays so unless you buy organic milk, it’s hard to get away from all of it (no wonder 14 year old girls look like they are 20 these days!). I have been researching and feel that goat’s milk is a good alternative; if only she would take it now. So, I am still breastfeeding but hopefully I can wean her off before returning to work in September.

Cubby is very musically inclined. She likes shaking maracas, a mini tambourine, hitting mini drums, and hitting any two objects together to see what noise they make. I always play a nursery rhymes cd during feeding time and she now rocks back and forth and kicks her feet when I start the cd. She got many musical cause and effect toys for her first birthday so she is enjoying pressing the buttons and hearing the music. She bops her head side to side and claps to the music. I also got her Lets Rock Elmo and she loves it! She is playing his instruments and attempting to sing into the microphone. She also likes giving Elmo a hug. (http://www.hasbro.com/playskool/en_US/ELMO/play/details.cfm?R=64441A6F-5056-900B-100D-F5DF7BCDADFA:en_US).

Cubby has a definite personality now. She is a fireball and true gemini. She knows how to manipulate everyone around her to give her attention and be at her beck and call! Luckily she is very social and loves other children and adults. She is having so much fun facing forwards in the toddler seat of the Uppababy now (even though that was so hard for me to turn her facing out as I can’t see her face now!). She waves to everyone and makes squealing noises when I take her to the mall.

It is so amazing to see how Cubby has developed over this past year. I can’t picture what life would be like without her. I have been fortunate to have some girls nights out and a few date nights with my husband. I think it’s important to have your time away and give yourself a break. However, I do miss her when I am out and look at her pictures on my phone. Often times, I can’t wait to go home and see her little face. Cubby has brought so much joy to so many people and I can’t wait to watch her grow up into a little lady (hopefully it will be slowly and not quickly!).

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Feeding Baby, The Cubby Chronicles, Your Baby's Development and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

