Cubby’s visit to the dentist

I had my 6 month dental cleaning and check up appointment yesterday. My mom was supposed to watch Cubby as my dentist is 2 minutes from her house, but she had called me and told me that she was unable to watch her as she was taking my dad to an appointment. I called the dentist to cancel and reschedule my cleaning and they told me to still come to my appointment and bring her in. Bring her in? I thought maybe they think she is still little and can sit in her carseat like at my last visit. I explained to them that she is 1 now and is all over the place. They surprised me and still told me to come. I was wondering how this visit would pan out and how clean they would be able to get my teeth.

Everyone was excited when I came in with her. They were waving and smiling and she was happy to see new faces. The receptionist brought in a huge soft blanket and put it on the floor with tons of toys to keep Cubby occupied. I was impressed that they were so accommodating. They said that it is a family practice and they encourage all family members to attend, even the little ones. They opened up a bright colourful toothbrush for her and she had fun waving it around and banging it on things. She even put the bristles in her mouth a few times and it looked like she was brushing her little teeth! LOL! The dental hygienist explained to me that I should take a baby toothbrush and start brushing her teeth with plain water so she gets used to something being in her mouth. She said that it will be easier to brush her teeth the earlier she gets used to a toothbrush. She also explained that Cubby’s first visit would be between 2 and 3 years old. She was very knowledgeable.

We let Cubby play on the floor and the hygienist reclined my chair back to start my cleaning. It lasted about 5 minutes and Cubby realized that she couldn’t see my face any more and started crying. We tried to ignore it hoping that she would go back to her toys, but she got louder and louder. The hygienist picked her up and put her on my lap. She continued cleaning my teeth and Cubby began crawling all over me and pulling really hard at the little bib thing they put on you. That lasted for about 5 minutes and then she wanted to be on the go. The hygienist put her on the floor again, this time facing away from me, and tried to engage her in the toys. She played for about 8 minutes and began crying again. I was starting to think that I would go home with dirty teeth!

The hygienist called the receptionist and she came and picked up Cubby. She was playing with her toothbrush and waving to everyone. I told her to take her out of the room as she does better when she doesn’t see me. They were nervous, but I told them she is a people person and loves the attention. They took her to the front desk and I was able to finish my dental appointment. I didn’t hear any noise except squeals of laughter and excitement so I knew she was fine. When I was done, I turned the corner to go to the reception desk and saw Cubby sitting on the receptionist’s lap waving happily to everyone and trying to pull their phone off of the hook. The receptionist told me that she was an angel and she was greeting everyone who came in. She also showed me a picture that Cubby had drawn for me when they gave her a highlighter and a piece of paper. It was so cute! Cubby looked like she was having the time of her life. She didn’t even want to come back to me. LOL!

I have to thank the dentist’s office for being so accommodating. I love their family approach and it was really helpful that they had people to watch her. I also like that they had everything prepared and ready for her: the big blanket, all of the toys, and the little toothbrush. I have gone to some other appointments with her and have been treated not so well or have been told not to bring her again. It was refreshing to know that I could still get my teeth cleaned and that she was fine. Kuddos to the dental office!

(Disclaimer: Keep in mind that I know this dental office really well and have been going there for 6 or 7 years so I felt comfortable with them watching Cubby. I would not give her to complete strangers!).

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Health and Your Baby, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

