The Right Decision

I feel great! I took Cubby to the doctor yesterday for her follow up visit and he said she is much better and does not have an ear infection. I had been dreading the visit as I had decided not to give her the antibiotics for her red ear and cough last week (in fear that it would give her diarrhea). I did not want the doctor to label me as “non compliant” with his medical advice! I took her and he checked her out and said that she was fine and that her red ear was probably her eustachian tube being irritated and inflamed from being sick and that it was probably teething related. He commended me on my decision not to give her the antibiotics and said that he is leaning more towards not giving antibiotics to babies unless it is really needed. He said that antibiotics are often overprescribed nowadays and we are killing off the good bacteria as well as creating superbugs when most baby’s immune systems should be able to fight off the illness. I was so pleased to hear this from him and have a doctor who finally thinks the way that I do! What a great guy!

It just went to show that as moms we need to trust our gut and our instincts and remember that the doctor may only be getting a quick snap shot of your child during the visit. Whereas, you have been following their every move, checking their temperature and symptoms throughout the day and night, and you probably know what is best. I’m not saying do not follow up with the doctor, but if their medical advice doesn’t sit well with you, get a second opinion or trust your own judgment.

He also weighed Cubby and she has gained weight since last week as I have been diligently feeding her and making some great tasting homemade baby food. Great news!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Health and Your Baby, Teething and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

