Teething and Fever Fish!

This week has been rather difficult as Cubby is teething again. She has been slobbery, feverish, has a cough, runny nose and I can’t put her down. It got progressively worse as the week went by.  Yesterday morning when I got her out of her crib in the morning, her cheeks were bright red and she was burning up. I immediately knew that she had a fever. We gave her a bath and put on fresh clothes. She looked miserable and so sad. I felt so bad for my little Cubby.

I knew that I wanted to monitor her temperature so I got out my Fever Fish and put one onto her chest. I know you are probably wondering what Fever Fish are! Well ironically I was at the Baby Time Show last Friday and bought a pack of these little multicoloured stickers called Fever Fish. They are bright and fun and actually have numbers on them that highlight the corresponding degrees of your child’s temperature in Celcius. It also highlights an “N” if your child is fine and does not have a fever. I think they are absolutely brilliant. The package said that they are non toxic and accurate within a degree or so. I read the instructions on the fish and decided to use one right away. They are good for about 24 hours so I put one on her chest in the morning and pulled down the top of her shirt a little to check her temperature every hour yesterday. I have not seen Fever Fish being sold anywhere as yet, but they said that they were just launching them in Canada. Their website is: http://www.temp-visuel.com so feel free to do your own research!

Cubby hates when I try to put the thermometer under her armpit and squirms before I can even get a reading. I am not brave enough yet to try to take her temperature rectally! And I have heard that the ear thermometers are not as accurate and can be quite pricey. I noticed that her temperature went from 38 degrees to 41 within a few hours so I sent my mom rushing out to get some Baby Tylenol. I gave Cubby a 1 mL dose of it (it was my first time giving her Tylenol!) and waited to see what would happen. She seemed more comfortable after about an hour. Prior to that, she had been crying and moaning and making such a sad little face. Unfortunately, she has not really been eating solids this week and has already lost a lb. Of course, I tried to stay calm and comfort my little Cubby, but she has never had a fever this high and I know infants can get seizures from a high temperature so I was monitoring her closely.

By 1 pm and after 2 doses of Baby Tylenol, I called her paediatrician and luckily got an appointment at 3 pm. I rushed and took little Cubby. Of course, her fever had gone down to 38 degrees and she was happier and more playful (that always happens at the doctor’s office!). He said that she is teething as she was slobbery and biting on everything she could find. However, he also said that she is fighting some sort of virus. He told me to give Tylenol every 4 hours and monitor her temperature. He also told me that a fever was a good thing as it meant that her body was doing what it is meant to do: raising the core temperature to fight off the bacteria or virus (our bodies are amazing things!); so I felt better despite knowing that information already. At least I heard it from her doctor.

He also checked her weight and she is significantly below where she should be for her age (which I knew). She is at the level of a 6 month old despite being 10 1/2 months old (9 1/2 months corrected). I said that she doesn’t have much of an appetite and has never had one from day 1. She has always been a snacker and eats small portions. I told him that I am currently offering 3 meals a day and 2 snacks and that she eats, but smaller portions. She can also be really fussy; hence dinner and a show (refer to my previous blog post if you don’t know what I am talking about!). I got kind of paranoid, but I asked if she could just be a small baby. He said that was possible too, but he wants me to follow up for her 1 year appointment and if she is still significantly below where she should be, he is going to send her for some tests (EEEKK!). I’m not getting too stressed out. I think she’s just meant to be a small baby. Regardless, I have tried forcing her to eat, but I don’t want to push too much or she will have a negative association with food and meal time.

This week goes to show that parenting can be quite stressful, especially when your little one is sick and suffering. But every day I look at her little red cheeks and weepy big brown eyes and think that I couldn’t be more in love!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Feeding Baby, Health and Your Baby, Teething and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

