We are at the 10 month mark!

I cannot believe that Cubby is already 10 months old. I feel like I write that as every month passes, but it’s true. I technically have 2 months left of my maternity leave; however, I am probably extending it until August or September. I know it will be difficult to go back to work and leave Cubby, but at the same time, I’m ready for some adult socialization and professional activities again. Also, since both my mom and mother-in-law have agreed to watch her when I return to work, I feel happy knowing she will be in good hands!

Cubby cut her first tooth recently. I feel like a horrible mom. She had stopped eating solids, wanted to nurse all of the time, was cranky and clingy and I could not put her down. I thought that it was teething, but I feel like I blame so many things on teething. I was also indirectly upset that I was taking the time to prepare delicious homemade organic purees for her and she would take a bite and then want nothing to do with them. I couldn’t understand why she wouldn’t eat a bite and I kept throwing them out because they were contaminated once I put her spoon back in the bowl. Also, I was worried that she would lose weight if she didn’t eat so I was putting her in her highchair and practically forcing her to eat. She was resisting, crying and turning her head side to side, but I kept trying. Then, by the end of the week, it was in and I saw the tooth and immediately felt horrible! It all made sense. I don’t know why I didn’t see it at the time. I didn’t know this, but her immunity had been down during the teething process of cutting a tooth so she has had a cough for 2 weeks now. She was also very tired, but was refusing to nap during the day.

Since then, Cubby has been in a much better mood this week. She is back to eating and napping properly. I am trying to encourage Cubby to start crawling. She is still sitting on her bottom and scooting forward. She goes on her tummy and extends her head and uses her arms to reach and swat at toys, but no reciprocal movements yet. Sometimes I worry that Cubby is small for her age; she definitely doesn’t look like a 10 month old, but then I realize that she is happy, healthy and active and will reach her milestones on her own time. I try not to be one of those mothers who always compares their child to someone else’s. I just get paranoid when older people keep commenting on how small and delicate she is!

Today was an adventurous morning. We all got up extra early and got ready to go to a taping of the local news program at Babies R Us. Since Cubby and I have been attending our FitMom fitness classes, our instructor asked us if we would like to be on tv demonstrating some of our moves. I agreed and subsequently woke up Cubby at 5:30 am today to be at Babies R Us by 6:30 am. It was fun. They taped the segment for about 5-7 minutes and introduced all of our babies at the end. I wasn’t sure if Cubby would face towards me in the Baby Bjorn, so they put her in a back carrier; the Mei Tei Chimparoo. It felt awkward at first and then more comfortable. I think Cubby was sitting a little low as you could hardly see her face, just two big brown eyes peeking out. Needless to say I am exhausted from our early morning and am heading to bed really soon despite it being a Friday!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Fitness for New Moms, Teething, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

