Mommy spa day and gifts for new moms

I had a really great day today. My mommy friends and I planned a home spa day, so we had 2 ladies from a mobile spa come to my house and give us hand and foot massages, sugar scrub and nail polish. It felt great to relax and be pampered. The babies came as well so we were still feeding and nursing and playing and watching that they didn’t get into anything, but it was totally worth it! Cubby’s first tooth started coming in last week, so she has been exceptionally clingy and crying when I walk 2 steps away from her. I have been carrying her around everywhere I go. She was really cranky today, but even that couldn’t stop me from enjoying my mommy spa day.

I would really recommend planning one at the end of your maternity leave. We all made food so we had our spa day and some nice snacks. We were talking about how fast time has gone and how we can’t believe our maternity leave will be over soon. The babies are all so big now; rolling and crawling and standing up holding onto furniture (well all except my little Cubby, who is lazy with her gross motor skills, but has great fine motor skills!). It is remarkable how much the babies learn and develop within the first year. I am thankful that I met such a great group of moms to spend my maternity leave with and go through our babies’ milestones together.

I also had a really good weekend. I was worried as my husband was away at his brother’s bachelor party. I had thought that I would be alone with Cubby all weekend, but my sister in law came and slept over. It was such a good break to have someone constantly playing with Cubby and entertaining her. I had my hands free to clean, organize, do laundry and tidy up (isn’t it funny that I had a break from Cubby and I could have put my feet up and relaxed or taken a nap, but the first thing I wanted to do was housework? LOL!). My sister in law got to spend quality alone time with little Cubby and I got some piece of mind. It would have been a really long weekend with just Cubby and I so having her here was much appreciated.

It got me thinking that the best gifts that you could give a new mom are:

1. The gift of time: whether it is babysitting the little one or going over to give the new mom company, any time that you have is appreciated.

2. The gift of food: it is really difficult to always have nutritious food prepared for yourself when you are looking after the little one and making sure their needs are met. New moms often forget to eat or don’t have time to eat. Any food that you bring over is much appreciated.

3. The gift of a spa day: new moms rarely pamper themselves let alone bathe every day. It has to be a really special day for me to get out of my Lululemons and nursing shirts and put on real clothes, do my hair and wear make up! A spa day is a great gift to show that you appreciate everything the new mom is doing for their little one and give them a couple of hours to themselves.

4. The gift of a massage: new moms are constantly contorting their bodies, whether it is leaning forward all day to pick up the little one from their crib or the floor and bending to put them back down, hunched forward breastfeeding, sticking out one hip so the little one can be held on one side (so you have one hand free), or carrying a heavy diaper bag. Your body takes a lot of physical stress and a massage is well deserved and well appreciated.

5. The gift of sleep: this is one area where new moms really need help. I find that I am never getting enough sleep or rest and constantly getting sick. I would pay someone to come over for an hour so I could take a nap!

6. The gift of a gift card: if you are ever stuck trying to think of what to bring when you go to see a new baby and new mom, know that gift cards are much appreciated, especially to stores such as Walmart, Babies R Us, Zellers, or Shoppers Drugmart. New moms are constantly in need of supplies for the baby such as diapers, wipes, diaper cream, baby food, sippy cups, diaper genie refills.. (I think you get the picture!).

7. Last but not least, the gift of friendship: new moms can start to feel lonely or isolated pretty easily. Many people do not call thinking that the mom is busy with the baby Β or doesn’t have time to talk. There is nothing more heartwarming than seeing missed calls from friends and family (when you are off busy with the baby), and listening to supportive messages.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mommy spa day and gifts for new moms

  1. Theresa says:

    Ahhh! The gift of sleep! Best gift of all!…… πŸ™‚
    ENJOY that baby and God bless-
    Theresa

  2. darlene says:

    So true Sonia! Great ideas for gifts for new moms. Glad to know i’m not the only one that gets lonely being at home with the babies. Great to read your blog, really lifts my spirt! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

