Fit Mom gets two thumbs up!

I know I have been blogging about my endless struggle with post pregnancy weight loss and how hard it has been to lose any weight. About a month and a half ago I was online looking for mommy baby fitness classes and came across the website: www.fitmommagazine.com/fitmomcanada. I looked up fitness classes in my area and came across one that was literally 8 minutes away. For me, a class has to be fairly close to my house (especially in the morning), so that I have time to eat, get ready, feed cubby and get there on time! I recruited two of my mommy friends and we did a free trial class.

Wow! It was intense. It was only an hour long, but it felt like the longest hour of my life. I remember looking at the instructor and thinking to myself: “does she not see that I have a 15 lb. baby hanging in front of me and she wants me to do that???!!”. I had trouble walking, doing stairs and picking up little Cubby for 2 days after my free workout class. I spoke to my mommy friends and we agreed to sign up and continue on with the classes. I committed to twice a week as I have my brother in law’s wedding in June and would like to fit into some of my clothes. In my mind, I’m acting like I am on the Biggest Loser and the wedding day (June 2) will be my big reveal! I’m happy to report that I have already lost 3 lbs. since starting my classes a month and a half ago. I feel really good. I am also eating better as I know the amount of effort that I have to exert to burn off the calories!

I can’t say enough good things about my instructor. She is a mom as well and has been through it all herself (although you could never tell!). We start off the class with our babies in carriers, then progress to some resistance training, cardio, cool down and end the class in a circle doing songs with our babies. It’s great socialization for myself and the little one. I would really recommend looking at their website and seeing if there are classes in your area. I am committed to twice a week until June. Hopefully I will be in my pre pregnancy clothes soon. Wish me luck!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Fitness for New Moms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

