Awesome baby gates!

Recently, we were thinking of starting to baby proof our home. Cubby has been a little lazy and is not crawling or cruising on furniture yet, but I thought that I would plan ahead. Also, since we are still dog sitting, the gates could keep Caesar out of the kitchen during Cubby’s feeding times. I went online last week and searched around for baby gates thinking that I would find those big white ugly plastic ones. I came across 2 brands that looked modern and sleek and that would blend into the decor of our house: the Summer Infant Stylish and Secure Wood and Metal gate (www.summerinfant.com/Products/Safety-Care/Security-Gates-Playard/Stylish-Secure™-Wood—Metal-Walk-Thru-Gate.aspx) and the Munchkin Deco Wood and Steel Designer Gate (www.infantgates.com/product/deco). They both looked pretty similar in style and qualities. So, I decided to venture to the nearest Babies R Us to take a closer look.

When I got there, I asked the sales associate about both of them and she said that they were comparable in price and style (I think the Summer Infant gates were a little bit more pricey). I read both of the boxes and called my husband to meet me (I figured since he will be the one installing them, he should get to choose). We saw that the Munchkin ones were on sale for $49.97 and the Summer Infant ones were $89.99, so when my husband (AKA: Mr. Cheaps) arrived, the decision was quick and simple: buy the ones that were on sale.

We took the gates home and within 2-3 hours, he had them all installed and ready to go. They look great and are really easy to use. The only thing that I would say is that there is a bar across the bottom where the door clicks in, so you have to be careful not to trip over it. The door can swing both ways so you can open them however you like. They seem pretty sturdy, we both tried pulling on them and they didn’t budge. No complaints so far, but we have yet to see what Cubby will do to them once she becomes more mobile!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

