Forecast calls for 2 pukers and some diarrhea!

What a day!! Is it over yet? Between Cubby and my dog I’m going to lose my mind! I awoke this morning and headed to my bathroom to brush my teeth as I usually do and stepped in something mushy and wet. I looked down to see that my dog had somehow puked all over my bathroom mats and floor during the night. Great, I thought. I cleaned it all up and took him to go potty outside. At 6am, Cubby started crying so I went in her room to feed her and noticed when I picked her up that she had pasty residue all over her face and her sleep sack and crib sheets were stained with puke. Great, I thought, we have puker number 2.

I don’t know what it was about last night that made both of them puke. I know Caesar has been eating everything in sight. He hangs out under Cubby’s highchair and waits for scraps, even if that means getting hit by falling objects that get released by Cubby. Yesterday, he got hit so hard by her sippy cup full of water that he yelped and limped away in pain. Did that deter him? Nope! He was right back at it begging for food at the foot of her chair.

Cubby was feeling fine today with no signs of illness so perhaps she ate too much or I over fed her? Still, we managed to get out and have a good day. We went to mommy baby bootcamp in the morning. It was brutal for me, but Cubby seemed to get a kick out it. She was laughing and screaming away happily in the Baby Bjorn probably laughing at mommy making a fool of her self! Then we came home and she napped for an hour while I ate lunch and cleaned the kitchen. We then headed to a playdate nearby. She was happy there. We hadn’t been to a playdate recently as she has had a cold for 2 weeks now. She got a chance to catch up with all of her friends. Afterwards, I did some grocery shopping at Whole Foods to get her organic fruits and veggies and headed home thinking that if I won the lottery, I would eat at Whole Foods every day! (How I love Whole Foods, but I don’t know how much my wallet loves it).

I returned home exhausted and sore to discover a strange foul odour in my kitchen. I followed my nose only to see mounds of diarrhea all over the kitchen floor. I called my dog over and yelled at him. He looked away and went to hide under my dining table. Luckily, Cubby had fallen asleep on the way home so I left her in her carseat. I scooped up the mounds of poop and sprayed down the floor with 4 different cleaners. I was disgusted and frustrated. What more could happen today? I felt bad because I knew my dog wasn’t feeling well. It was probably from all of the scraps that he had been eating yesterday. I picked up Caesar and headed upstairs. I gave him a good bath and scrub down and blow dried his fur. I think he felt better. I went back downstairs, got on my hands and knees and sprayed and cleaned everything in sight (not knowing where Caesar had walked and sat with his dirty butt!). I was pooped!

Caesar came up to me and started pawing me, knowing that it was his dinner time. I fed him and Cubby was up again. Time to feed number 2. I began making her dinner and pureeing it. I set her up in the highchair and fed her cod with carrots. I must be tired because I dropped her bowl all over me and fishy puree spilled on my clothes and on the floor. I tried to keep Caesar away so he would not lick up the scraps and become ill again. I cleaned up myself, Cubby and the floor. Luckily, I heard the door open and did a silent cheer that my husband was home early today. I handed off Cubby to him and from what I hear, he is still trying to put her to sleep. Somewhere in between all of this, I did 3 loads of laundry to clean all of Cubby’s dirty clothes and bedding and the dirty puke stained bathmats. I think I had overloaded the washing machine, as it began rocking back and forth violently and the floor was pounding. Ooops!

What a day! The life of a mother is very tiresome. But don’t get me all wrong, it’s not all bad. Cubby has recently learned how to wave and give high fives so every time I feel down or frustrated, I look at her waving her hand back and forth and giving a goofy grin and think: It’s all worth it!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

