3 months to 1 year :(

I had a busy and eventful weekend. Cubby turned 9 months old on Saturday. Honestly, I know that people always say that time flies and you should enjoy your time with your children, and it’s true. Where did 9 months go?? I feel like she was just a newborn all cozy and swaddled in my arms.

I was at a first birthday party for my friend’s son on Saturday and I was watching him in amazement as he zipped around the party room with his walker. I remember when he was just born and now he is tall with a full head of curly hair and walking everywhere! I couldn’t help but think to myself that Cubby will be having her first birthday party in 3 months. I love to organize events and parties so I am already planning out her first birthday party and brainstorming ideas. I was at the mall last week and they had some great sales so I picked up her birthday outfit (hopefully it will fit her when June comes around!). I was also uploading all of Cubby’s pictures from her eighth month, as I do every month, and I took some time to look back at each month’s pictures from when she was born. She was so small and fragile. I looked at her recent 8 month old pictures and she looks mature with a tall thin frame and a pixie hair style (is it possible for an 9 month old to look mature?).

I have to admit that Cubby already has her personality traits and she sure knows how to play mommy and daddy. I have started to dread her feeding time in the mornings as I feel like she is already a picky eater and has her favourite foods: pears, bananas, apples, butternut squash, sweet potatoes, and blueberries (anything sweet). If she does not like the food that I am giving her, she will shake her head from side to side so the food ends up on her cheeks or in her hair. Or she will bat the spoon away causing food to drip all over the place. It’s like I have to catch her at the appropriate time, when she is in a good mood, not too tired or overstimulated and then she may eat. I find that even dinner and a show doesn’t seem to be working for her lately. Perhaps I need a new act.

Also, when it comes to bathing, she loves sitting in her bathtub and playing with her bath toys. Or her new thing is taking a shower; she loves to be held in the warm shower. However, I dread taking her to the bed to dry her off. Lately she cries hysterically every time I dry her. I thought that she may be cold, so I keep her bundled up with her towel and only dry one extremity at a time. I go as fast as I can and give her toys to play with, but she still cries and kicks.

Cubby started to exhibit separation anxiety at month 8. Prior to that, I could set her up with toys in the living room and she would be fine. I could walk to the kitchen (10 steps away) and prepare food, wash dishes, or clean. Now, she cries hysterically the minute that I walk 2 steps away from her. She isn’t even entertained by the exersaucer any more. Oh Cubby! I have to put her in the Baby Bjorn now for most of the day so my hands are free, but it is still not safe for me to cook with her dangling in front of me. I have tried putting her in a booster chair with toys around her, but that only entertains her briefly.

She is really liking the game of dropping her toys and having me pick them up. She thinks this is hilarious! She has also started rocking back and forth so it looks like she is dancing. I have noticed her moving herself forward by rocking and scooting on her butt. What a smart little Cubby!

She has grown so much and is mastering new motor skills day by day. I can just imagine how much she will be doing by the time her first birthday comes. Although it makes me proud to think of my little Cubby growing up into her own independent person, it also makes me sad to think of this happening so quickly. For now, I treasure each day and every moment spent with her. I take hundreds of pictures each month so I can one day show her how much she was able to do during the first year of her life.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in The Cubby Chronicles, Your Baby's Development and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

