Getting baby’s ears pierced

I have had some questions about when I pierced Cubby’s ears and where I took her. I took her to a place called Caryl Baker Visage in Sherway Gardens Mall. They specialize in baby ear piercing. I took Cubby when she was 3 1/2 months old to inquire about getting her ears pierced. I was going to wait until she was 6 months old. I spoke to the lady and she told me that 3 1/2 months was a better time as Cubby would not be rolling around or pulling/touching her ears. I was extremely nervous and anxious as I had not told anyone that I was thinking about piercing Cubby’s ears, not even my husband!

The lady told me to go to Shoppers Drugmart and ask the pharmacist for a cream called Emla, which is basically a numbing cream. I went to Shoppers and the pharmacist explained that you take your little finger and put a tiny dab at the front and back of each ear lobe. Then you wait for 45 to 60 minutes and her ears should be numb. I followed the directions and walked around the mall nervous and wondering if I was going to go through with it.

We went back to Caryl Baker Visage and I picked out these cute little diamond looking studs. I was soooo nervous. The worst part was having to hold her really still and hold her arms as she hates to be restricted. She got upset at that part. The lady put the 2 dots on her ear lobes and did one after another; Cubby didn’t even notice. She was upset that I was holding her still. The whole procedure took 1 minute and was over. I put Cubby  on my shoulder and hugged her. She was looking around the place and smiling at the lady who had pierced her ears. She had no clue what had just happened.

I monitored her ears closely for the next 2 weeks. They never went red or got infected. They healed by the next day. I put the alcohol solution on her ear lobes (front and back) twice a day for however long that they had specified and rolled the earrings. No problems ever. They looked great (even though my husband and my immediate family yelled at me!) I haven’t changed them yet and she looks super cute with her little bling bling earrings.

I would completely recommend Caryl Baker Visage for baby ear piercing and I would definitely get the Emla cream so there is no pain or discomfort. The Caryl Baker website is: www.carylbakervisage.com .

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Health and Your Baby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting baby’s ears pierced

  1. Jake Sauvage says:

    That’s amazing! Visage is a fantastic company full of amazing people, and I’m glad you had such a great experience. ❤

  2. angietune says:

    Was searching for my GF’s blog and came across yours. Loved your thoughtful reasoning and description about having your dd’s ears pierced at this age. I think you were a smart mommy for doing it now when mommy can care for them.

    Babies and little girls with pierced ears celebrates their femininity and femaleness.

    Our ped gave me some suggestions for moms having their infant dd’s ears pierced as well as for “Tips for moms having their dd’s ears pierced/Care of Newly Pierced Ears.”

    If your or any other moms thinking about it and want to do it now or would like them, write me an e-mail.

    Angie
    Angietune@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

