Are you talking out loud to yourself? Don’t worry, you’re not crazy!!

WOW! I can’t believe this is my 30th post. I’ve been blogging away for the past 2 1/2 months documenting the good and bad sides of new mommy hood and my adventures with Cubby. It’s been great. I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback from everyone reading my blogs and new moms-to-be have been really appreciative of some of the earlier posts. Thanks and keep reading!

This topic came about as I was at a play date yesterday for a 1 year old’s birthday and we started talking about how we are constantly speaking out loud to our little ones. It’s like you become the narrator of your life. Even if the little one doesn’t understand what you are saying, most new moms will give a running commentary. It usually looks something like this: “Ok, now we are going to eat breakfast. Then mommy is going to give you a bath and change you. We will play for a little and then you need to take a nap. Mommy will take a shower and eat her breakfast.” It was hilarious to exchange stories as I thought that I was the only one who was doing this.

The funny part is that now Cubby looks at me like she understands what I am saying when I give her the run down of our day. I find that I am making the commentary to myself even when she is sleeping or not around. I will be like: “Ok, I’m going to take a quick shower, then change into my pyjamas, maybe read a little, or blog and then go to sleep.” Sometimes my husband looks at me like I am crazy.

It makes me feel better to verbalize and plan my day out loud. As a new mom, you have a million things running through your mind. It takes me an hour just to warm up her breakfast, feed her, and eat my breakfast. Planning to go on an outing such as grocery shopping or visiting a friend can take you 2 to 3 hours to get out of your door depending how your day is going. You have to have a step by step plan of the day or you may never make it out of the door.

For example, today I had a play date scheduled at my house with 4 other moms and their little ones. I had everything ready to go. I went grocery shopping yesterday and bought some snacks and drinks, the house was clean, the toys were ready to go, but Cubby would just not go down for her usual morning nap! I tried the usual pep talk and game plan for what we were doing for the day, but it’s like she knew that something was going on. I was counting on her nap time so that I would be able to take a shower, change, and set up the kitchen. No matter how hard I tried or what method I used, she would not close her eyes and nap. I was watching the time and it was already 12:15 and the play date was scheduled for 1 pm. I had to put her in her crib with some toys and take the video monitor upstairs with me as I took the quickest shower of my life and put on whatever clothes were already on the floor. I was ready and downstairs with Cubby just as the other moms started arriving.

So you see that as new moms, we are constantly balancing the day and planning ahead for the next hours to come. There is no real down time, except when Cubby is napping or sleeping at night. Don’t worry if you are a new mom and you find yourself constantly talking out loud, even if your baby is not with you. It seems to be the norm and perhaps your baby likes hearing what to expect for the day!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

