Night time poops: to change or not to change?

Funny topic, I know, but it happened last night. I put Cubby to sleep and after an hour she was already up and making noise in her crib. She wasn’t exactly crying, but whining and making her Chewbacca noises. I thought it was funny as she usually sleeps for at least 3 hours before waking up for a feed. I had my husband go and pick her up and rock her back to sleep. After an hour, she was up making noise again. I was extremely tired again so I tried to ignore her noises, thinking that she would put herself back to sleep.

I ended up falling asleep and was awoken at 4 am by some light cries coming through the monitor. I went downstairs and picked Cubby up out of her crib and got her in the feeding position. I was half asleep with my eyes closed; but I could smell a foul odour coming from Cubby. A stinky stench was coming from her diaper.. a stinky stench that could only come from a poop after eating solid foods! I thought “what should I do?” Do I let her go back to sleep knowing she has a diaper full of poop or do I wake her up and change her? I wanted her to sleep but I thought that she may have been uncomfortable in her full poopy diaper and perhaps that was why she was awake so many times earlier in the night. I debated and debated and then decided, I was going to change her diaper. How would I like to sleep the rest of the night in a diaper full of poop?

I took her upstairs to my room and turned on the dimmest light that I could and put her on the changing pad. She still had her eyes closed, but she was making noises that sounded like she was getting annoyed. I unzipped her sleeper and took off her diaper. She awoke fully and started howling and kicking. She was twisting and turning and I was trying hard to keep her still so I would not get poop all over my bed! She was screaming at the top of her lungs as I had disturbed her sleep, but I kept thinking that she would feel better in a fresh clean diaper. It took extra long to change her diaper as she was really unhappy with me for waking her up.

I took her downstairs back to her nursery and turned off all of the lights. I rocked her and rocked her, patting her on the back and bouncing her to try to get her back to sleep. Every time I put her into her crib and tried to walk away, I saw her big eyes staring at me and she would start to whimper. This went on for about 45 minutes. I finally got her to sleep only to return to my bed upstairs at 5:15 am. I was exhausted and now I would have one more bout of 3 hours of sleep before she would wake up for good.

Needless to say, I’ve been exhausted all day today. I tried to take a nap when she did, but I felt like there was too much to do. The kitchen was an absolute mess and I was tripping over her toys everywhere. I spent an hour cleaning up, a half hour making my lunch and eating and then took a quick shower and she was up again. Now it’s 11 pm and I’m ready to start the cycle all over again. She has been sleeping for about 2 hours. Let’s hope she sleeps through most of the night tonight and there are no more poops (hopefully she got it out as she has pooped 4 times in the past 24 hours!).

So the question remains, night time poops: to change or not to change? What do you guys think?

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Sleep and Your Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

