Sophie the Giraffe, that great money stealing teether!

Ask anyone who has a baby or knows a baby who Sophie the Giraffe is and they will tell you. Sophie the Giraffe has single handedly monopolized the baby world and has become the number one item that a baby has to have. Do you know that Sophie the Giraffe costs $22.00 Cdn? $22.00 for a teething toy, you ask? I know this because I am on Sophie number 2 as Sophie number 1 went AWOL yesterday somewhere between the mall and Walmart. Cubby has this annoying habit of throwing all of her toys onto the ground. I should have been a smarter savvy mom and had a noose around her neck tethering her to the stroller or carseat but I thought, my cubby would not throw her beloved Sophie overboard. I was wrong and I found out the hard way!

Perhaps I was imagining it, but I felt like cubby was looking for Sophie all day today. I gave her other teething toys; however, they just didn’t seem to suffice. I felt guilty. I knew she was searching high and low for her beloved friend…. sooo, I went today and bought cubby another Sophie. I didn’t feel as bad as we had gotten the first one as a shower gift. To top it off, I was at a baby boutique type store, not the usual Babies R Us or Safety Superstore and I was explaining to the sales lady about Sophie number 1. She actually convinced me to buy a toy strap! It was a beautiful printed fabric toy strap made by Pippalily, but it was another $10 (although it’s really just a piece of fabric with 2 pieces of velcro at the end that I could have made at home for $2). I left the store cringing that the price of Sophie had just gone up to $32 with the beautiful toy strap. (www.pippalily.com/product_detail.php?gid=24).

I got into the car and wrapped the toy strap around Sophie’s little neck as tight as I could. I fastened the other end to the carseat. I gave her a little pep talk about how she was not going anywhere, she was not going to disappear at the mall or at Walmart or be thrown overboard while out for a walk one day. This Sophie is sticking around. This is the Cadillac of all Sophies with a $10 noose around her neck! She looked scared, but I think she got the point.

Am I just a sucker who has money to throw away? I can’t dispute that cubby loves that little Sophie and chews the heck out of it. I loved seeing her gummy toothed smile when it was returned to her today. (She did not know that I did a switch-a-roo on her! Ha Ha, clever mom!) One of my friends messaged me today when she saw that Sophie had gone missing and said that she had fit Sophie’s head into those linking rings and fastened her that way. Hmmm, that probably would have been smarter as I have those rings at home already… but they are not as pretty as the Pippalily toy strap. What is a fashion conscious mom to do?

Anyways, all I am saying is that although Sophie is a gosh darn expensive giraffe, she is pretty practical for a teething infant: thin, easy to grasp, non toxic rubber, has lots of teething surfaces, she squeaks, and most of all .. my cubby loves her. For now, Sophie it is. There better not be a number 3!!!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products, Teething and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

