The dreaded teething

For the past month I have noticed as cubby became more slobbery and whiny and knew what was upon us… the dreaded teething! I had been awaiting this for quite some time as I had heard stories, both good and bad from my mommy friends. Cubby would normally play happily all day and make cooing sounds and screams of joy. Now, she rocks back and forth and makes constant noises that make her sound like a little Chewbacca. I feel bad for her as I know it is probably really painful, but recently her neediness and noises have been getting the better of me.

Our usual morning routine consists of breakfast and then watching Live with Kelly, but now, no matter how loud I put the tv, all I hear is “agghh aggghh aggghh” in my ear. I try to sing to her, to give her toys that make noise, but she keeps making the Chewy sound. I have tried rubbing teething gel by Hyland’s onto her gums and that seems to help (www.hylands.com/products/teethinggel.php). However, it is a struggle or wrestling match to try to get her to open her mouth wide enough so I can put a ribbon of the teething gel onto her gums.

I have also tried giving her Camilia drops by Boiron. She seems to like the taste of these drops. I have tried a big cold carrot, a washcloth, teething toys and her gnawing on my finger. All of those help temporarily, but she just continues to look uncomfortable. Sadly, the only time she is quiet lately is when she is taking naps or sleeping. And then, that’s another thing. I had her on a routine where she would fall asleep by herself when I put her into her crib drowsy. Now, it takes about an hour of rocking her, turning her onto her stomach and tapping her back, nursing her, etc. Then at night time, she is now waking about 3 to 4 times for feeds and comforting. I don’t think that I am a fan of this teething stuff.

Some of my mommy friends bought a teething necklace that they wear and it has a medallion at the end of it made with a special material that the baby can chew on (www.smartmomjewelry.com).¬†Another friend of mine recommended a necklace made of amber that you put on the baby, but I’m nervous about putting anything around her neck (www.amber-teething-necklace.com). Some people swear by vibrating teething rings. I have one, but she can’t seem to make it vibrate herself, I have to push on it.

For now, I’m trying a mixture of everything that I have at home and hopefully she’ll get through this time. Or should I say, hopefully I will get through this time!

If you have any great ideas for teething or products that have worked for your baby, please comment!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Natural Remedies for Baby, Teething and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

