Dinner and a show

I have been introducing solids to cubby for almost 2 months now and we have pretty much gotten through all of the fruits and veggies including apricots, broccoli, peas, apple, pear, blueberries, squash, sweet potato and banana. It has really fun using the Baby Bullet to make my homemade baby food (I wish cooking for myself was that easy!). Cubby took well to solids; however, Mexico and her sickness threw a bit of a wrench into it. She used to eat solids twice a day and now I’m lucky if she takes them once a day. She continues to breastfeed non stop, which is great, as I know she is still not 100% better and needs the fluid.

I’m writing about the fun times that we have had with feeding. One of my new mommy friends and her husband came up with the expression “dinner and a show” in regards to feeding their 11 month old son and I just loved it! (Hopefully she doesn’t mind me using her expression). She said that her son used to be really good at eating solids and then he became distractible and didn’t want to sit in the highchair, he would fuss and move his head side to side. She said that she would be in the feeding position and her husband would sing, make funny faces, dance, read, do a puppet show, anything to keep the little one entertained and he would open his mouth and keep feeding (not realizing that he was eating). It is almost like she was tricking him.

I was at her house last week for a play date and I was explaining to her how cubby is just not interested in solids any more and how she was doing the same thing. I had her in the highchair and my friend gave her a book and a toy, which kept her distracted enough to open her mouth and actually eat! It was quite tricky, but this tom foolery worked for her. My friend also suggested giving cubby some water in a sippy cup to give her a break from eating and this also worked quite well.

At home, feeding time has become hilarious! I put on music, I dance, I sing, I make faces, I read stories and act things out, anything to distract her from the spoon that is approaching. My husband joins in too if he is at home. If anyone is watching us through the window, they probably think we are nuts (which I confess we are nuts!). But hey, it’s making little cubby eat and that’s all that matters. I know older people like my mom and mother in law have said that eating should be a structured quiet time with no distraction, but unfortunately cubby won’t eat anything if we do that. For now it’s dinner and a show. I would say that you are all invited, but I haven’t worked up the nerve yet for everyone to watch! Perhaps one day I’ll post a video of us.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Feeding Baby, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dinner and a show

  1. Kim Doyle says:

    How old is Anaya now? Once she gets close to 8 months, she may want to try some finger foods, which are a little more exciting than purees. Some people go with whole food right from the start (baby led weaning). We did purees and then moved on to table food. After purees, we started Kaelyn with Heinz O’s when she was about 8 months (maybe a bit before), and by 9 months she was eating pieces of banana, berries, sliced pear, etc, and at 10 months she moved to diced meat, cooked veggies, etc.

  2. JeyL. says:

    LOL! Doesn’t it work wonders? I’ve memorized some of his books because he turns the pages so fast! Oh, things we do for these kids…. Minor correction, little Z is 10 months 😉

Leave a Reply

