Dealing with stress

This post is more serious regarding stress. I have always found it difficult to deal with stress, especially personal stress from conflict between friends, family or those around me. I usually shut down or get quiet and internally my heart is beating fast, my stomach is in knots, my adrenal glands are overworking, I can’t digest anything and I can’t sleep. I have been that stressed numerous times since having my cubby.

The first time I was that stressed was the two nights when she had just come home from the hospital and was so lethargic she would not eat anything. Then, I was really stressed when we were admitted to the hospital due to her jaundice and her bilirubin kept increasing (instead of decreasing) despite the light therapy and feeding her non-stop. The next time was when she would not latch for breastfeeding, and subsequently when she refused to take the bottle any more. I cannot say that it has been easy or smooth sailing by any means. I have hit roadblocks in almost every aspect with cubby from not feeding properly, to not sleeping through the night (she is still not sleeping through the night), to  not gaining enough weight, to not being able to fall asleep for naps (though she used to nap perfectly), … I could go on and on. However, obviously the good times outweigh the bad.

The main point of this post is that every new mom encounters a great deal of stress as everything is new and overwhelming. It is how you deal with the stress and get through the rough patches that matters. I have been working with a naturopath for the past 6 years and she is well aware of my difficulty with stress. There are things you can take to support your body during stressful times. Definitely take Vitamin C as you can be more prone to getting sick when you are stressed out. She recommended a great product called Emergen-C, which dissolves in water and gives you 1000 mg of vitamin C along with other vitamins. There are also drops called Bach’s Rescue Remedy which help your body to calm down in times of stress (www.bachflower.com/Rescue_Remedy.htm). I have the herbal tea, lemon balm, which is known to reduce anxiety. If you can leave the baby and get out of the house, obviously things like yoga, acupuncture or getting a massage will relax you.

I have been trying to get out of the house and exercise at the gym. The activity helps me to forget about the stress and makes me feel better and more positive. A few days ago I was able to go for a manicure and pedicure, which made me feel amazing and gave me some breathing space. It was so sad, even though I was away from cubby and enjoying my spa treatment, I found myself talking about her non stop and showing people pictures!

I hope this gives you some natural options for dealing with stress.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Fitness for New Moms, Natural Remedies for Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

