Losing weight post partum

I’m packing for a much needed trip to Mexico and trying on clothes thinking to myself “It’s 7 months post partum, how am I still this big?” I went to Mexico exactly a year ago when I was 3 months pregnant and sadly I was smaller than I am now. My clothes from that trip don’t fit me now! 😦  I’ve spoken to many first time moms and I realize that the weight loss post partum varies for each individual.

Many of my friends who were breastfeeding saw the weight fall off of them and they claim that they are a smaller size now then they were to begin with. Obviously, I’m not in that category! I kept waiting for that to happen, but it never did. I found that I was absolutely starving post partum and breastfeeding, more so than when I was actually pregnant. I ate so much food constantly. Unfortunately I have also been struggling with hypoglycaemia when I wait too long in between meals or if I do too much activity. I get really dizzy and lightheaded and the room starts spinning. Then I know that I have to eat something right away. The doctor told me that it was not good to have your blood sugars drop that low and that I should be eating 6 small meals a day to regulate it. I must have poor time management because I’m not able to make and eat 6 small meals a day.

I am trying to have meals ready, but it’s really hard. Cubby is getting to the stage where I can’t just leave her in her exersaucer and walk away to the kitchen. She starts crying hysterically. I have to put her in the Baby Bjorn, but then I am too scared to turn on the stove and cook when she is hanging in front of me. It would be nice to have a chef to cook me healthy meals! I often run out and grab anything I can get my hands on when I’m starving. (That isn’t helping my weight loss either!)

I joined the gym in January for a month trial of GoodLife. Too bad I’ve only gone a total of 5 times. They have a babysitting service for $5 for 2 hours, which sounded good; however, it is volunteers and not child care workers. I can’t bring myself to leave cubby there for 2 hours even though I’m in the same building. I think I’m an overprotective mom! I really enjoyed the few classes that I went to such as Zumba and body pump, but I also got really dizzy in both and had to run to my locker to eat a protein bar.

I have also been trying to walk more outside. I got cubby all winterized so she’s in her snow suit and I got a Baby Ganoush for the Uppababy so she’s all warm and cozy. I usually walk with my new mom friends who live in the same area. I’m not as motivated to walk by myself, and I don’t think I could ever drag my husband off of his computer to join us. I’ve lost perhaps 1 lb. since December. I was hoping to have lost more to fit into my clothes/ bathing suits for Mexico, but I didn’t.

My next goal is to get back to my old size for my brother in law’s wedding in June. I think it’s realistic; losing 13 lbs. in 5 months? I hope so! I am trying to motivate my husband to come to the gym with me in the mornings and we can rotate through the machines so he can be my trainer and I can be his motivator (seeing how he has not used his gym membership in a year or so and is still paying monthly for it!). We will see how that one goes post Mexico.

I know it sounds like I am making a lot of excuses. Perhaps I could put on a fitness video and do it while she is napping, but honestly I am super tired. Cubby is still not sleeping through the night and is up 2 to 3 times for feeds. It’s really draining. Usually I am cleaning when she is napping and her naps have been more sporadic and unpredictable lately.

Hmmmm… we will see. I am eager and anxious to lose weight and fit into my pre-pregnancy clothes, but I am giving myself 5 months. For now I’ll just stare at my closet and keep wearing the same clothes from 1 drawer of my humungous dresser!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Fitness for New Moms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

