Feeding your baby solids

I have been introducing cubby to solids for about 2 weeks now and it is going well. So far she has tried sweet potato, butternut squash, pear, apple, avocado and banana. Of course she loves the fruits and thought avocado was a strange texture (as evidenced by her regurgitating it out of her mouth!) She has had mild reactions to apple and sweet potato. Her cheeks became really red and dry and she had a slight rash on her chin and cheeks, which went away within 12 hours. I will try to reintroduce those two at a later time. It has been a fun experience and I must say that I am loving the Baby Bullet that I got as a shower gift. It is really coming in handy and the little 2 oz. food jars are great for storing fresh made baby puree and using the date dial on top (so I remember when I made them!) Her appetite has been good and she always wants to hold the spoon herself and put it in her mouth.

I thought I would blog about the whole feeding experience and things that come in handy to have for feeding your baby solids. These are items that you should have for introducing solids:

1/A blender, or Baby Bullet, hand held blender or some type of blending device

2/Baby bowls and spoons

3/A steamer or pot with a steamer

4/A separate cutting board (so your baby food doesn’t taste/smell like garlic, onions or any other strong foods that you have been making for yourself).

5/A high chair. I really like the Boon Flair Pedestal high chair as it is easy to adjust and does not have messy fabric that it hard to clean. Tons of food will get stuck in your high chair and stain the fabric, so it’s nicer if it is made of a smooth durable easy to clean material. Their website is  http://www.booninc.com/products/Flair. (Note: I am using the Prima Pappa diner high chair as I borrowed it from my brother, but I still like the Boon one better for ease of use and easy clean up).

6/A good fruit/vegetable peeler

7/Vinyl bibs or easy to clean bibs. This is a hilarious point. I have been using all of cubby’s cotton bibs with cute animal faces etc. and they are all STAINED. No matter how much I wash them, these fruits and veggies leave hideous stains. So I was chatting with my neighbour and she told me to get large vinyl bibs that can be rinsed under water for cleaning and do not stain. Why didn’t I think of that! I checked cubby’s drawers and we had some that we had gotten at my baby shower and I didn’t even think to look for them. On another note, make sure you go through your baby’s closet and drawers regularly to see if there are items that you could be currently using. I have forgotten about some clothing only to see her wear it 1 or 2 times and it is too small for her!

8/Facecloths to clean your little one’s face after they are done eating (again, these get stained so don’t use your nice ones like I have been doing!)

9/A large mat for underneath your high chair. I didn’t get one because our kitchen has tile floors, but if you are feeding them on any other surface or are worried about your floors, you can buy a large mat to go underneath the high chair.

10/Baby Cubes. You can get these at any baby store and they are BPA free and amazing for storing and freezing home made baby food. They come in 4 sizes. I am currently using that 1 oz. and 2 oz. size ones.

11/Boon Squirt. This is a really cool spoon-type device that holds your baby food inside and you squeeze the bulb to move it to the spoon part. It is great for travelling. (I often mention Boon as they have great modern products that I used when I did OT with children. Check out their website at http://www.booninc.com).

12/Wean Machine. I bought this at the Babytime Show from the girls at Sprout Right (they have an amazing website http://www.sproutright.com and great products for making your own organic baby food. I watched a great webinar that they did). This little yellow Wean Machine is made of plastic and comes with a little spoon. You can use it to press soft fruits/veggies like avocados or bananas and it makes them into baby puree. Once again, this is great for travelling or when you are on the go. Their website is http://www.theweanmachine.com.

13/Non toxic cleaner. You will need to clean and disinfect everything including the high chair, counters and floors as this food ends up everywhere! I use the Ionator Hom from http://www.activeion.com.

14/Baby dish soap. I bought a couple of natural brands including Babyganics and Dapple. These are good in case there is any residue left on their bowls or spoons. I also use a separate sponge or bottle brush to clean her baby utensils.

15/A camera. Don’t forget to have your camera or video camera handy as you will get some hilarious pictures!

I know it looks like a huge list, but you don’t need to get everything. Try it out yourself and see what works for you. Happy feeding!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Feeding Baby, Great Baby Products and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeding your baby solids

  1. Montessori Motherload says:

    That’s a pretty good list there! I enjoyed making baby food too, though I have to admit that I was pretty happy when she began eating normal food and I didn’t have to make/store/carry baby food cubes around when we were out!

    I know what you mean about the food stains! We had these bibs that were almost like art smocks- sleeves and full front coverage. It’s amazing how messy they can be (and still are, in my case!).

    Great blog! 🙂 I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

