Travelling with your baby

I always knew that I wanted to take a family vacation with cubby when she reached 7 or 8 months. We booked our vacation a few weeks ago and are waiting 2 more weeks to go to sunny Mexico for a well deserved trip. I can’t wait! More importantly I have started gathering items that I will need to pack for cubby. The list seems endless. I spoke to a few friends, who travelled with their little ones, and got some ideas. Here is what I have come up with so far:

1/bathing suits, swim diapers, Lil Swimmers diapers (http://www.huggies.com/en-US/products/swimpants/littleswimmers)

2/sun dresses, beach outfits, day time outfits

3/sweaters, pants and dresses for evening

4/towels: for the beach and hooded ones for her baths

5/baby toiletries: wash, shampoo, hairbrush, diapers, travel size wipes

6/hats: floppy UV protected hat for the pool and beach, daytime sun hats

7/baby sunscreen: I found a good natural brand called Green Beaver, which does not have any chemicals in it (http://www.greenbeaver.com/sunscreen-86.html).

8/baby sunglasses: A good brand is Baby Banz (http://www.banzworld.com).

9/baby pool float: We looked all over for one in winter and found one left at Canadian Tire so she can float in the water and it is covered for UV protection.

10/umbrella stroller with protective bag for the airplane: We are taking the umbrella stroller as it is easier to manage and lighter to travel with. We found a cheap cover for curbside check in so our stroller does not get scratched or damaged. The umbrella stroller has a bug net and rain shield.

11/baby food: Although I have been making my own purees, I’m not about to give cubby random fruits and veggies in Mexico so I am taking pre-made organic baby food purees.

12/diaper bag with a wet/dry bag: I am taking our diaper bag, with an extra big change pad for the beach/pool that can get wet or dirty. (The one that came with the diaper bag is too nice to put in dirty water!) I’m getting a wet/dry bag so I can put her wet bathing suits,  and swim diapers in the diaper bag without getting everything else wet.

13/her favourite toys/ teethers

14/sheets for the crib: I called ahead and they have cribs that we can use.

15/tent for the beach/outdoors/sleeping: I don’t know if I actually needed it, but I bought a mini tent for her with an inflatable mattress so she can roll around on the beach in it and is protected from the sun as it is UV proof. I think it is called the PeaPod (http://www.kidco.com).

16/baby spoons, bowls, bibs, sippy cup

17/the portable Sleep Sheep so she will have background white noise for sleeping (http://www.sleepsheepandfriends.com/sheep.html).

18/her homeopathic drops such as Coryzalia for colds, Mommy’s Bliss gripe water for gas, Hydrasense saline drops for her nose, Baby Tylenol.

19/a camera and video camera. We are taking an SLR camera and our FLIP Ultra HD mini video camera. The FLIP is tiny and lightweight and takes up to 2 hours of HD video. Check out the website at http://support.theflip.com/en-ca/home.

It is quite the list of things to pack. I think her suitcase is going to be bigger than mine! Hope this helps you if you are planning on travelling anywhere warm this winter with your little one.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products, Travelling With Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travelling with your baby

  1. Farrah says:

    Sooooo useful!!!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

