Sleep training update

Let me just say that the baby sleep website has been amazing! For this past week, I have been working at putting cubby down at the same time each night (7 pm) and letting her fall asleep on her own. I had totally missed the key ingredient, that you put them down to sleep, drowsy but still awake. I had been nursing/rocking her to sleep and then putting her into the crib asleep and she would cry hysterically for 45 minutes to 1 hour. Now, I nurse her, walk with her a little, she puts her head on my shoulder, I put her into the crib drowsy and awake, and I walk out of the room. She stays awake QUIETLY for 1-2 minutes, looks around, plays with her Sleep Sheep and goes to sleep by herself!! No more crying, fussing, drama or stress. It has been great. Let me not get ahead of myself as it has only been about 3 nights of no crying.

On the other hand, I have been working hard at trying to phase out the night feeds, which lately are always at 12 and 3 am. For 2 nights, I tried letting her cry it out. It was heart wrenching. I wish I had earplugs. I had to give in. Both nights, she cried for 1 hour at each feeding time and went into hysterics. I couldn’t sleep anyway, so I fed her. She fed for so long at both feeds, I felt like I was starving her. Maybe it’s too much to think that she can go from 7 pm to 7 am with no feeds. So I decided that I would try to phase out the 3 am feed and see if she can go from 12 to 7 am. I haven’t been able to do it as yet. Last night, even my husband, who is all about “tough love” told me to feed her as he felt bad for her. I guess I will keep trying.

Her nap schedule has been great, although the sleep website recommended to be home for the first 2 naps of the day and the third nap (optional) can be “on the go”. With our busy social schedule, it’s hard to stay home for the first half of the day, every day of the week. So I did what I could and she napped pretty well. When we were home, I put her down at the same times, with the same routine and there was some fuss at the beginning of the week, and no fuss at the end of the week. All in all, she is doing pretty well and is energetic and happy during the day as she is back on a sleep schedule.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Sleep and Your Baby and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

