Cubby at 6 1/2 months

Sooo.. sleep training is going well. Cubby has been crying only about 5 minutes now when I put her down for naps. She then finds her thumb and puts her head to the side, self soothes and falls asleep. Her naps are lasting about 40-45 minutes. I find that I keep the same routine for naps and it makes it easier: I put her in her crib with a light blanket, I turn on my relaxation ZEN cd (instrumental), and tell her I will be back soon. Babies like routine and now she knows what to expect when that music goes on. I also use her Cloud B Sleep Sheep, which is a stuffed sheep with an internal sound machine that features noises such as: rain, water and whales. It provides white noise and has strong velcro, which allows me to attach it safely to her crib or to her stroller. (http://www.cloudb.com/ssandf/sheep.html).

Putting her to sleep at night is still a little challenging. She is getting sleepy now at 7 pm consistently so I usually start preparing her for bed between 6 and 6:30 pm. I change her diaper, get her into her HALO sleep sack, take her into her nursery, nurse her, rock her for a little bit and she usually falls asleep. I then transfer her into her crib and sneak out. I haven’t managed to get her to go to sleep on her own yet at night. It’s a work in progress. (https://www.halosleep.com/).

As for weaning her off of her night feeds, I have started to let her cry it out for her feed around 1 am. She has been putting herself back to sleep and waking up again at around 3:30 am. I am trying to reduce the night feeds to one a night, and then hopefully she will stop getting up at night! As an aside, a word of advice, don’t put sleepers on that are too big for your child. For the past two nights, I have been awoken to sounds similar to that of a wounded animal. When I go downstairs and check on her in her crib, she is quiet upset. I unzip her sleep sack only to discover that she has both legs stuck in one leg of her sleeper. It has happened 4 times in the past 2 nights. I feel so bad, she looks like a little pretzel!

I think cubby has started teething as she is always drooling and putting everything in her mouth. My neighbour introduced me to a great teether, the Massaging Action Teether from Learning Curve. It has a star at one end with 3 edges that vibrate and soothe her gums. She hasn’t learned how to cause it to vibrate as yet, but she likes gnawing on it and I press the vibration for her. (http://www.thefirstyears.com/product/detail/Y1479A4?locale=en_US). Of course, she cannot get enough of the infamous Sophie the Giraffe. Her little face lights up when I take it out of the diaper bag and give it a squeak. (http://www.sophiegiraffeusa.com/).

With playtime, I am trying to get her to experience different positions such as sitting upright and standing. I put her in the Baby Einstein Musical Motion Activity Jumper for brief periods of time; however, I noticed that she tends to roll her ankles and is jumping on the outside of her toes. I took her to our family doctor and he said that babies’ ankles are very flexible and can get sprained easily. He told me to limit the time that she spends in it until she is stronger (http://www.toysrus.ca/product/index.jsp?productId=4409529). I tend to alternate between the Baby Einstein and Evenflo Exersaucer, where she is standing in one spot (http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=181&pfid=2445).

As for sitting up, I put her in the Bumbo chair for up to 15 minutes at a time. She gets tired of that position and begins to push back, looking like she is going to pop right out of the seat. You have to be very careful and make sure you supervise when your baby is in the Bumbo chair as they can pop out of it quite easily as they get stronger. Also, never put the Bumbo chair on any high surface. I think it’s worth borrowing the Bumbo chair from a friend or family member. I don’t think it’s worth buying one for such a short period of time. There are also many babies who hate the chair and it doesn’t get used. It is quite expensive for a piece of colourful foam (http://www.bumbo.com/).

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Great Baby Products, The Cubby Chronicles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

