Getting longevity out of your toys

Before rushing out and trying to buy the newest toy on the market for your little one, it’s good to do some research and look at products/toys that can adjust to different stages of your child’s development. I had received an Evenflo Exersaucer from my baby registry and I was reading the box and talking to other new moms with babies older than mine, who had said that their child loved the exersaucer for about 3 months. Even though I did not pay for the exersaucer, I was thinking to myself: “Is 3 months of use worth $130.00?” I ended up taking back my exersaucer to Babies R’ Us and discovered that Evenflo had come  out with a new one, the Triple Fun Exersaucer, that could be used from 1 month old to 24 months; now that’s more like it! It begins as a playmat with toys that hang down for 0-4 month olds (I missed that stage). Then it is an exersaucer for 4 months to walking age. Lastly, you can open it up to an activity table that lasts until about 24 months old. So it’s not just one of those toys that takes 3 hours to put together and then lasts 3 months and ends up in your closet collecting dust. (http://www.evenflo.com/product.aspx?id=181&pfid=2445).

Another good find was the Baby Einstein Around the World playmat. I have used it since cubby was 1 month old (she used to sleep on it with a blanket over top). Now, she is 6 1/2 months and is really engaged with the mat, rolling from side to side to reach the toys and try to put them in her mouth. There is a smiling world that lights up and plays music and detaches so I can take it with us and attach it to her stroller or carseat. (http://www.babyeinstein.com/en/products/product_explorer/category/activity/90510/Around_the_World_Play_Gym.html).

I also recently got a teether by Infantino (the OT in me loves this brand!). It has 3 different rings that come off of one base and are different colours/textures so they serve as a teething toy from when she is gumming and wanting something to suck on (the smooth texture) to when her teeth are coming in (larger surface, rougher texture). I have bought a  lot of toys and products by the Infantino brand. Their colours, materials and attention to detail are great. (http://infantino.com/product.cfm?product_id=1366). When looking for items for your little ones, make sure that you can get more than 3-4 months use out of them.

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Great Baby Products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

