Choosing a diaper bag

My diaper bag story is similar to that of my stroller story, and of course occurred because of my husband. I had researched diaper bags while I was pregnant and had come up with some stylish ones from SkipHop, Kate Spade, Coach, and Michael Kors. My husband, AKA: Mr. Cheaps, clearly stated that I was not allowed to get a $200+ diaper bag and he would not carry one that was feminine. I sacrificed and got a messenger bag style one that was black with green dots from Oi Oi. The strap used to dig into my shoulder and pull on my upper trapezius muscle causing neck pain. I always made him carry it or I attached it to the handle bar of our old stroller, the Quinny Buzz (causing it to often tip over!) Soo.. one day I was browsing on Ebay and came across the Kate Spade diaper bag that I had initially wanted. I didn’t tell my husband and ordered it immediately. I love this diaper bag! It is huge with lots of pockets for diapers, wipes and toys and has a generously sized purple polka dot change pad. I can fit numerous changes of clothes as well as my wallet, cellphone and bills, etc. I don’t take a purse with me any more so this serves as both a purse for me and her diaper bag. It is pretty large and heavy once I fill it up, so luckily it fits into the basket of my Uppababy Vista. I can also use it as an overnight bag when little cubby grows up!

So here are some tips for choosing a diaper bag:

1/ Size of the bag: can you fit toys/ diapers/ change of clothes and your items (if you are not carrying a purse)?

2/ Weight of the bag: can you carry around this full bag all day, or if not, can it fit into the bottom of your stroller?

3/ Type of handles: do the handles feel comfortable on your shoulder or across your body or does it dig into your shoulder? Picture this when you are carrying a 6 month old and your diaper bag.

4/ Additions: does it come with a large changing pad, wipes holder, insulated bottle holder, are there many pockets?

5/ Print/ design: you are going to be carrying around this bag for the next 2 years and possibly longer if you have multiple children, so you might as well look stylish doing it!

About newmom78

I am a mother to 2 beautiful girls with a degree in Occupational Therapy. After suffering a miscarriage of my second child at 5.5 months pregnant, I have decided to change and simplify my life. This blog is about the chronicles of my daily life with my daughters as well as the laughter and frustration that goes along with trying to be "super mom" and play numerous roles; wife, mother, daughter, employee, friend, and student.
This entry was posted in Advice for New Moms, Before Baby Arrives, Great Baby Products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

